Thursday, May 24, 2018

Midway University students, faculty and student organizations receive awards of excellence

By Sarah Ladd
University of Kentucky School of Journalism and Media

Midway University recently presented awards of excellence to faculty, students and campus organizations.    

"The annual honors event is an important reminder of our purpose and a celebration of our students' academic and social achievements,” Dr. Mary Elizabeth Stivers, vice president for academic affairs, said in a university news release. 

The awards were presented at an April 19 event named for the late Joy Edwards Hembree, a long-time university trustee who advocated for women and children, recognizes persons for superior accomplishments, both in the classroom and beyond, the release said.

Award recipients from the Midway area were:
Georgetown: Katie Morgan, Future Alumni
Versailles: Shannon Jackson, MSN Education Track Award for Professional Excellence
Frankfort: Cait Smith, Outstanding English Student Award; Alexus Thornton, Outstanding Student in Master of Business Administration

Other award recipients included:
Dr. Cynthia Ryder, Outstanding Teacher Award
Courtney Clark (Lexington), Associate Degree Nursing Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Ashley Lewis (Lawrenceburg), BSN Professional Excellence Award
Sheila Griffeth (Lexington), MSN Administration Track Award for Professional Excellence
Velkys Montemayor Jordan, Health Care Administration Award
Jasmine Valentine (Simpsonville), Outstanding Biology Student Award
Sgt Daniel Truex (Lexington), Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award
 Michelle Clark (Sidney, Ohio), Outstanding Psychology Student Award
Heather Ping (Somerset), Outstanding Teacher Education Student Award
 Mike Johnson, Outstanding Master of Education Student Award
Jarol Prado, Outstanding Mathematics Student Award
Rachel Carter (Murfreesboro, Tenn.), Outstanding Business Student Award
 Elizabeth Douglas, Outstanding Student in Equine Rehabilitation
Beverly Gartland (Essex, Vt.), Outstanding Student in Equine Management and Equine Science
Christina Neira, Outstanding Sport Management Student Award
 Callum Johnston (Lexington), Excellence in Community Service Award
Rashea Smith (Corbin), Ruth Slack Roach Junior Scholar
Freshman Leadership Award: Cameron Kincer (Neon) and Lynsey Doles (Ripley, Tenn.)
Midway Eagle Leadership Award: Kendra Legters (Bloomfield, N.Y.) and Ellie Lyons (Shelbyville)

The Athletic Team Impact Award went to the women's soccer team and the Student Organization Impact Award went to the Midway Horse Association.

No comments: